Habakkuk 3: Praising by Default


In the third chapter of Habakkuk, I think it is wise to remember the structure of what we have already been through. In the first chapter, we have Habakkuk questioning the judgment of God and wondering why He is allowing all of these things to happen. In chapter 2, God tells Habakkuk about the ultimate justice that is going to be coming to the Babylonians. Now, in chapter 3, Habakkuk is praising God again.

Hab 3:18  Yet I will rejoice in the LORD, I will joy in the God of my salvation.

Hab 3:19  The LORD God is my strength, and he will make my feet like hinds’ feet, and he will make me to walk upon mine high places. To the chief singer on my stringed instruments.

I point this out because I think this is an attitude that needs to be in all of us. It is okay to have questions. We can be like Habakkuk and ask God why certain things happen. I don’t think that anyone can make the case that we need to have every answer. We are finite people, so why would we have every possible answer in the universe? It doesn’t seem to follow.

However, as Christians who are committed to following God, our default response should be to praise God in whatever we do with the understanding that God is good.

Deu 32:4  He is the Rock, his work is perfect: for all his ways are judgment: a God of truth and without iniquity, just and right is he.

Now, some people might argue that I am jumping the gun on this one. I am assuming that God is true and therefore assuming there are answers. Actually, I find that the evidence pointing towards the existence of God is strong. Therefore, if God is indeed a real being, then I am certainly justified in my understanding that God is good. That is part of the reality of who the Christian God is defined as.

In that case, if God is real and if God is good even when we don’t understand everything, why would praise not be our default response? I can’t think of anything worth praising more than the only one who is perfect.

Posted on January 14, 2015, in Habakkuk and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

