Matthew 14: Walking on Water


I think that reading about Peter walking on water in Matthew 14 is one of my favorite stories in the Bible.

Mat 14:28  And Peter answered him and said, Lord, if it be thou, bid me come unto thee on the water.

Mat 14:29  And he said, Come. And when Peter was come down out of the ship, he walked on the water, to go to Jesus.

Mat 14:30  But when he saw the wind boisterous, he was afraid; and beginning to sink, he cried, saying, Lord, save me.

Mat 14:31  And immediately Jesus stretched forth his hand, and caught him, and said unto him, O thou of little faith, wherefore didst thou doubt?

On one hand, Peter had a tremendous amount of faith in my opinion. He actually was willing to get out of the boat and start walking on the water. On the other hand, he began to become afraid, and Jesus tells them that he actually had little faith at that time.

It stands out to me that Jesus says “thou of little faith” because my immediate reaction is to say, “Peter was willing to do something that nobody else was willing to do. That means he has great faith.”

This divergence then makes me think about what Jesus calls us to. He doesn’t call for us to go half way. He doesn’t call for us to take a few steps and then fall. He calls for us to come all the way to Him walking on the water. That is not only radical, but it is also frightening. What seems like a great faith to me is really was only halfway. It was not sufficient.

I guess that’s a challenge for all of us. The commitment level that we are talking about here is important. Living for Jesus is not a part-time job. It should permeate every area of our life, and that faith should be demonstrated by our actions. Are we living lives that are reliant on the power of God?

Posted on February 20, 2015, in Matthew and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Zack! What a perfect post! All of your posts are helpful. RIght now, at this time in my life, my faith has been stretched, it has grown, and what a blessing! My car and I went over a 60 ft embankment (it is still on the cliff, resting on an 80 degee angle) during a snow storm with me in it. Every single thing that could have gone tragically wrong went right. I cried out to Him and He delivered me. The police said if my husband hadn’t run down to give me my phone, they would have maybe found me when the snow melted, months from now. The car is not visible from the road due to the angle. Not a scratch or broken bone! So Humbling, and the most perfect gift is that the Lord showed me that yes, I do have faith, but I needed to have more and more, and my faith and trust needs to grow exponentially, every day and in each situation I find myself in.
    Thank you Zack, for this reinforcing post, God bless you!
    Toni Poharcyk 😊

    • I’m so sorry to hear that. I am glad that everything turned out all right for you though. God is good all the time. That is must have been quite the experience. I can’t even imagine.

      Thanks for reading as well. It is nice to know 🙂

Leave a Reply

