Matthew 17: How Great Is Our God?


Matthew 17 begins with the story of the Transfiguration. Jesus took Peter, James and John up to the mountain where they witnessed some pretty frightening things.

Mat 17:5  While he yet spake, behold, a bright cloud overshadowed them: and behold a voice out of the cloud, which said, This is my beloved Son, in whom I am well pleased; hear ye him.

Mat 17:6  And when the disciples heard it, they fell on their face, and were sore afraid.

Mat 17:7  And Jesus came and touched them, and said, Arise, and be not afraid.

This particular passage stood out to me because the disciples were on the mountain with Jesus. They knew that they were in the middle of a supernatural experience, and it does not seem that they were afraid when they just saw Moses and Elijah. They were trembling with fear when they heard the voice of God.

That seems to be significant. It was simply overwhelming. It wasn’t as if God was even saying anything threatening. He was simply telling them that Jesus was His Son and that they should listen to Him. Sure, it was a command, but it was not the type of thing that you’d expect to be terrifying.

It must have been in the delivery then, and it makes me think about how great God must be. If people are trembling at a simple statement of fact from the mouth of God, how awesome must He be? How great and mighty must our God be? How much power is in all of God if that much power is simply in His voice?

I don’t know about all of you, but it is easy for me at least to put God in a box. I like to feel like I have a handle on God. I like to be able to comprehend all that God is, and I know I can’t. I know that my finite mind is simply not capable of encompassing the infinite. Reading this passage about this vast amount of power that is in simply one sentence from the mouth of God really is making me think about perspective.

Posted on February 23, 2015, in Matthew and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

