Matthew 25: Evidence of a Change


I entirely believe that salvation is something that we cannot earn. I believe it is a free gift from God that, although we do not deserve it, we can freely accept. However, in Matthew 25, it certainly seems like what we do matters.

Mat 25:34  Then shall the King say unto them on his right hand, Come, ye blessed of my Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world:

Mat 25:35  For I was an hungred, and ye gave me meat: I was thirsty, and ye gave me drink: I was a stranger, and ye took me in:

Mat 25:36  Naked, and ye clothed me: I was sick, and ye visited me: I was in prison, and ye came unto me.

It seems as if the implication here is that the ones who are doing the good works are the ones who are going to receive salvation. How do I reconcile that with what I said above?

I think about it as the evidence of salvation. If you are truly saved, your life will be changed. Indeed, you become a new creation. Therefore, if you are actually a new creation, it seems to me that there will be an evident change in your life.

Am I adding works to the salvation picture? No, I’m not. I do think that works are the inevitable consequence of salvation though. As a result, someone who has a deathbed experience might not have time for many good works, but it is not as if their salvation is in danger. The works follow the salvation, so if there is very little time, there would consequently not be many works.

I think this is a challenge for us as Christians. It is possible for people to say they are Christians and not be. I hope that is not true of you or me. I hope that we are living lives with the explicit goal of following God. We’re going to mess up, and luckily perfection is also not a prerequisite of salvation. It seems as if there is a change that will come into our lives though when we enter a relationship with Jesus Christ, and there ought to be evidence of that.

Posted on March 3, 2015, in Matthew and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

