1 Corinthians 13: Do It with Love


There is much more to being a Christian than simply knowing the intellectual arguments and being a great presenter. In 1 Corinthians 13, we find out that our attitude is the vehicle that utilizes these other pieces of the puzzle.

1Co 13:1  Though I speak with the tongues of men and of angels, and have not charity, I am become as sounding brass, or a tinkling cymbal.

1Co 13:2  And though I have the gift of prophecy, and understand all mysteries, and all knowledge; and though I have all faith, so that I could remove mountains, and have not charity, I am nothing.

1Co 13:3  And though I bestow all my goods to feed the poor, and though I give my body to be burned, and have not charity, it profiteth me nothing.

Without love, we’re not doing our job. If we preach perfectly and draw audiences like Billy Graham, if we don’t have the right attitude of love, then it is really all for nothing. That makes sense if you think about it. People are going to be drawn to us if they see that we care about them. When people understand that Christians are really trying to share news out of love rather than for some other ulterior motive, they become much more receptive to the gospel.

I think about a hypothetical situation where I am sharing the gospel, but my main motivation is to get more people in my local church so that we can have the biggest church in town. I’m not doing it in this situation because I care about the individual people, and that will come through in my presentation. Eventually, they will realize I don’t really care about them, and they will fade away as a result.

We need to make sure that we have the right heart going into it. As we work for the glory of God, we need to love the people we are working with. It makes a difference.

Posted on July 2, 2015, in 1 Corinthians and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

