2 Corinthians 2: What I Want


God does not always give us everything we want. Even though we might desperately want something, God did not have to comply with our limited perspective. I kind of got that type of feeling from Paul in 2 Corinthians 2.

2Co 2:12  Furthermore, when I came to Troas to preach Christ’s gospel, and a door was opened unto me of the Lord,

2Co 2:13  I had no rest in my spirit, because I found not Titus my brother: but taking my leave of them, I went from thence into Macedonia.

2Co 2:14  Now thanks be unto God, which always causeth us to triumph in Christ, and maketh manifest the savour of his knowledge by us in every place.

Paul went to a particular city because he saw an opportunity. God gave him some type of opening, and he went there because it was clear that that was where God was leading him. However, when he got there he was disappointed that he did not find his friend Titus. Paul certainly wanted to see Titus, and I am sure that they could have worked together to do powerful things in the city.

However, God did not have that lined up for some reason. The opportunity was still there, and interestingly Paul does not really mention how much success came about because of that opportunity. What I am trying to point out however is that even though Paul sincerely wanted to find Titus, God did not have to do what Paul wanted.

How often then do we demand things of God and try to force Him into our plans? It doesn’t work. God is infinite, and God has a perfect plan for everything in the universe. You and I might make plans, and I personally probably make far too many plans. However, if God has a different plan, ours need to go in the back seat by default. God’s plan takes priority.

Posted on July 7, 2015, in 2 Corinthians and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

