2 Corinthians 9: Cheerful Giving


I think that sometimes we can look at 2 Corinthians 9 in the passages about giving, our minds immediately think about finances. Financial giving is important. Don’t get me wrong. It takes money to run a church, and people have to work together to make that happen.

However, I think that we can go beyond talking just about finances in this passage.

2Co 9:6  But this I say, He which soweth sparingly shall reap also sparingly; and he which soweth bountifully shall reap also bountifully.

2Co 9:7  Every man according as he purposeth in his heart, so let him give; not grudgingly, or of necessity: for God loveth a cheerful giver.

Imagine I want to teach the children’s Sunday school class. I need to make sure I do that as is the right attitude. I should be giving of my time cheerfully. Teaching Sunday school is awesome, and I am glad that there are people who want to do that. God loves a cheerful giver, and those who give their time are incredibly valuable.

I even think about the idea of talent. There are plenty of talented musicians in the world, but not every musician wants to play on the praise and worship team. They should join praise and worship if they feel that God is calling them to do that certainly, but they should not use their talent out of necessity or obligation. God wants a cheerful giver.

Now, to continue my illustration, God does call us to use what we have given. If someone does have musical talent, it seems to be the case that he or she should use that to bring glory to God in some fashion. Because we are Christians and we want to glorify God, cheerful giving should be part of our identity. The cheerful part is the important part. We want to make sure that we are going into these types of endeavors with the right motivation

Posted on July 14, 2015, in 2 Corinthians and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

