2 Corinthians 12: Weakness As Opportunity


2 Corinthians 12 gives a little bit of biographical information about Paul. Although we don’t know specifics, he had some kind of physical ailment it would seem that caused him pain. He prayed to God to remove it, but God did not do that. I think a lot of us can relate to that.

2Co 12:7  And lest I should be exalted above measure through the abundance of the revelations, there was given to me a thorn in the flesh, the messenger of Satan to buffet me, lest I should be exalted above measure.

2Co 12:8  For this thing I besought the Lord thrice, that it might depart from me.

2Co 12:9  And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.

Let me try to create an analogy here. When do you appreciate having a car more? Do you appreciate it when you are going down the flat road, or do you appreciate it when you are going over the mountain? I imagine you would say the latter. Sure, it might not be easy to walk down the flat road, but it is much harder to go over the mountain, so you appreciate the assistance that much more.

I think God is the same way. Paul said he was going to glory in his infirmities because then he would have to rely on the power of Christ more. None of us are perfect, and we all have something that makes our life difficult. It might be a physical problem, it might be relationship problems, it might be emotional problems or it might be something entirely different. However, the point is that if there is anyone with a perfect life, I want to meet them.

Any of these problem areas should stand out to us as natural places to rely on God. For Paul, he could not make whatever this problem was better. However, it was a reminder for him to rely on God, and the way I see it, the more we rely on God, the better we will be. Weaknesses are opportunities.

Posted on July 17, 2015, in 2 Corinthians and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

