1 Peter 1: Be Like Jesus


As Christians, there’s no doubt that we love Jesus. That is the way it should be. After all, we know what love is because God first loved us. However, I think that sometimes we forget that a large part of the Christian life is working towards becoming conformed to the image of Jesus Christ. After all, given that He walked on earth with us, we have an example. 1 Peter 1 calls that fact to the forefront.

1Pe 1:15  But as he which hath called you is holy, so be ye holy in all manner of conversation;

1Pe 1:16  Because it is written, Be ye holy; for I am holy.

It is rather easy to say that we love Jesus. It is relatively easy to be sincere about that. I don’t doubt our conviction whatsoever. However, Peter seems to be calling us to something higher. It is not just loving Jesus Christ, but it is about following Him as well. It is about living our lives in accordance with the example that Jesus Christ set for us.

That certainly much easier said than done. After all, here I am talking about how that is what we need to do, and I know that I am far from perfect. Therefore, I am saying that we need to do something that I myself don’t even do. How do I have any authority to talk about something like this? Isn’t that being somewhat hypocritical?

I certainly don’t make the case that I have everything together. I know I don’t. However, that does not mean that I cannot continue on my walk with Jesus. It doesn’t mean I cannot learn more from His example.

That is what strikes me about the Christian life. We are pursuing One who is perfect; we never claim to be perfect ourselves. It is more than just saying we love Him although that is certainly a necessary part, but it is the development of a relationship. It is a process to become more like Jesus.

Posted on September 17, 2015, in 1 Peter and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

