What I Learned through This Journey and Some Parting Words

July 23, 2012 I started writing about a chapter of the Bible every day. I was about to enter my senior year at the University of Vermont. On October 24, 2015, the mission was complete. 1189 days in a row certainly didn’t make me into a perfect Christian, but there are a few things that stood out to me on the macro level that I want to share with you now from this journey.

  1. God is at the center of it all.

I think that there is a certain temptation that we often fall into where the chief purpose of the Bible is to be a self-help book. I need a proverb to give me advice. I’m not sure that is quite true. The Bible is a very helpful book, but it doesn’t seem like that is the chief purpose. Rather, it seems to me that the purpose of the Bible is to tell us the story of God. From the beginning of creation to the end of time, we hear about what God has done, is doing and will do. We hear this in the form of narrative, wisdom, poetry, prophecy, biography or parable.

This stood out to me as I looked at the various tags I have applied to each one of my posts every day. The top two are “God” and “Following God.” The Bible was primarily written to tell us about God.

  1. We need to respond to that knowledge.

If the Bible was written to tell us the story of God from beginning to end, we need to figure out what that means. God has made Himself known to us, but that could ultimately not make a difference in our lives. After all, the Bible could be nothing more than a piece of fiction. If it is that, maybe it has some entertainment value or some interesting thoughts to consider, but it ultimately will not change our worldview.

However, the Bible itself does not really give us that option. It requires that we make a decision. Whether we are looking at Abraham being willing to sacrifice Isaac or Jesus claiming to be the Way, we are not called to complacency. Rather, we need to decide whether we are going to follow God or not.

God is at the center of it all, but it is not enough to simply recognize that He is the protagonist. Rather, the knowledge that we learned about God necessitates a decision about whether or not He is worth following or not. The Bible was written to tell us about God, but some of the things we learn force our hands. Romans 3:23 brings out the problem and John 3:16 emphasizes the solution. We need to act.

  1. We need to be willing to work.

One of the top tags as I was writing through the Bible turned out to be “Controversy.” I did not break down how many times I used it as a descriptor of in-house debates between Christians or external debates with other religions, but there is plenty of controversy to go around when talking about the story of God.

I mention that in my highlights here because if the Bible is as controversial as I seem to think it is, then we’re going to run into plenty of people who disagree with us. That should not be surprising. However, what that means then is that we need to be prepared to have these discussions. We need to learn why we believe what we believe. 1 Peter 3:15 speaks about having a reason for the hope that we have as Christians.

If there is controversy, then it also means that there are not always easy answers. We all agree on what color the sky is because the answer is easy. The Bible is a little bit more difficult. However, if the Bible also is the story of God and demands that we make a decision about whether or not God is one worth following, then we need to be willing to do this hard work.

Parting Words

I hope that this blog has helped you out as much as it has helped me out. I know that I have learned more about God by doing this, and I hope it has given you something to think about as well. I really appreciate everyone who has read, commented and shared over the years. You are all such an encouragement, and I appreciate the support.

I’m going to be taking a brief hiatus from the blogging world. As some of you know if you read my bio page, I am currently an online student at Houston Baptist University, and this spring I will be working on my Master’s thesis before I graduate in May with my MA in Apologetics. Given the amount of time that I will need to dedicate to reading and writing for that endeavor, while I will probably still write and post on other outlets occasionally, I don’t know that I will have the time to write on the regular basis that running my own website would require. Down the road though, I am sure I will have a new project, but I am still in the idea stage for anything like that.

If you remember nothing else I have ever written, please remember this:

God is the center of the Bible, and God is the center of history. Jesus Christ is the most important man who ever lived, and He is the one and only Savior. By believing in Him, anyone can have eternal life. It takes a decision, and it is easily the most important decision you will ever make. We all have to answer that same question that Pontius Pilate asked, “What shall I do then with Jesus who is called Christ?” What will you do?

Posted on October 25, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Thank You Zak. I enjoyed this everyday of the journey. Know this,God has used you greatly in this endeavor,what a ride,thanks again. I would love to see this in kindle form,the whole journey,it would be a tremendous read for all. I would pay alot to get that.
    I am strongly convinced it will happen.
    Blessings to you, i will look for you on the other side, and thank you in person.
    We all know time is short,things are really moving.
    ___johnny___

  2. thank you for writing!
    i enjoyed your blog.

    Cheers

  3. Only yesterday I discovered your blog searching the FOBC directory. I was glad to find your post on 1 corinthians 13 which I have pinged back on my English blog a few minutes ago. Writing about every chapter of the bible is a great endeavour. Just now I notice your work has been finished already several months ago. Congratulations and God bless you for this Job! I may be coming back at times looking at what you wrote on some other chapters.

    I wish you all the best, joy, and new inspiritation and insights for your studies!

  4. Darrell Peebles

    I am a 77 year old retired Senior Citizen originally from the mid west, mow living in Sacramento, California. I am a life long believer in Jesus Christ and his precious blood shed for me on Golgotha’s hill called Calvary. My earliest most treasured memories are of reading my Bible Story Book at my mother;s knee.

    A few years ago a few days before Christmas I was handed a bible study guide that challenged me to read through the bible in one year. I accepted the challenge and seven months later I finished the task.A couple of years passed and I began to hunger for more of the Word. After wandering through the bible I felt inwardly I perhaps should both read and write down the word in longhand,I commenced with the Book of Psalms and today I completed reading and writing the Book of Proverbs.

    I know sense the Holy Spirit’s leading to commit to both reading and writing the New Testament after which I intend to both read a write the Old Testament in it’s entirety. With the Lord’s blessing and his help, my goal is to accomplish this task by writing three chapters a day.

    I am both excited and challenged to live and experience the coming days ahead to see what the Lord will do in my life and in the lives of my family and friends as I absorb this manna from heaven and as I drink my fill of His precious blood poured out as a sin offering for me.

    Please pray that our God will add his blessing to my endeavor of faith.

    Darrell

    Rancho Cordova, CA

Leave a Reply

